I think I CAN! You CAN too!

Cheesy Cheesy title, sorry guys.  However silly the title might be, it is still completely true.  I was always so scared of canning, until I recently decided to try it out and ended up with the gorgeous citrus segments that don our title page.  Before starting, I enlisted the help of seasoned canners and picked their brains.

Chalk full of new knowledge and encouragement I purchased:

What does one can in the middle of winter?  Why citrus of course!  Whole Foods had organic grapefruit and oranges in bulk bags on sale, score!

I followed all of the instructions that came with the canner, as well as in a few canning books I have recently fell in love with (Food In Jars and Canning for a New Generation), but ultimately ended up using these step by step instructions from Canning Granny. I am a visual learner and the pictures really helped.

_DSC0850

The finished product is both beautiful and delicious!  It really was not hard, but make sure to follow all of the directions exactly and you will be fine. Because if I CAN, YOU CAN!

I can

 

[Disclosure: Salty Suburban Homestead is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com. We receive a small commission whenever a product is purchased through these links.  So if you decide to order anything that is recommended on the blog, we would LOVE it if you used the affiliated links. We thank you in advance for your support!]

2 responses

Leave a Reply

